IL Concealed Carry 8-Hour Class
Illinois law requires 16 hours of training for concealed carry permits. You may only need to take this 8 hour class if you have certain previous training, or meet other requirements. Click the link in this paragraph to see what the state will recognize as previous credits. Students wishing to take the 8-Hour Course must provide the Instructor with documentation demonstrating that the student qualifies for the training credit(s) listed on the ISP website AND will have to provide such documentation to the ISP at the time of application. Acceptable prior training can be found at: https://www.isp.state.il.us/appriss/ccw/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf. Students registering for this class without the necessary documentation (in their possession at sign-up) will not be admitted to the class and will forfeit their class fees. If you have any questions about your documentation, please call us before you register. (847) 341-5711
IL CCF Permit Training Course is conducted. This class will usually begin on the shooting range on Sunday morning with a range test. There is a $25 range fee that will be paid at the range and is not included in the class fee. Afterwards, in the classroom, the student will learn the applicable laws (State and Federal) concerning concealed carry firearms in IL. We will also cover living the armed lifestyle, proper mindset and situational awareness, holster and firearm selection options, drawing from the holster, a written test, and finally a certificate of completion. This course is at least 8-hours long. We will cover the following topics:
All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; Minimum 4 hours Classroom
The Act in its entirety,
With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.
Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to
720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person
720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling
720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property
720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons
Definitions of dwelling, aggressor, forcible felony and unlawful use of weapons pursuant to the ILCS.
Weapon Handling; Minimum 4 hours.
Dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
Dry fire practice drills from concealment
Live fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
Live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. You may use your own firearm and ammunition. If you don’t own a firearm, we have rentals available. For $30 we will rent you a firearm and provide your ammo.
Arlington Heights: Registration
Crystal Lake: Registration